U.S. Territories

San Juan, Puerto Rico

The U.S. Territories refer to a group of geographical areas in the Pacific Ocean and Caribbean Sea. These territories fall under the jurisdiction of the United States federal government but do not hold the same status as the 50 states of the U.S. (e.g. they are not represented in the U.S. Congress). With varied histories, these territories often reflect a mix of American culture and different local cultures, providing a unique experience for international exchange participants. InterExchange programs provide an opportunity for international participants to live and work in some U.S. territories, most notably Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Each island in the U.S. territories boasts unique geography, history, sites and customs, and offers experiences that are distinct from the other states. Outdoor activities, museums and historical attractions can be found throughout the U.S. territories, and international visitors will find no shortage of recreational activities.

Learn more about U.S. territories

U.S. Department of State-Designated J-1 Visa Sponsor
Alliance for International Exchange
The International Coalition for Global Education and Exchange
European-American Chamber of Commerce New York
Global Ties U.S.
International Au Pair Association
WYSE Travel Confederation